Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

C++ or Java ?

Hello,
I am a software developer with about 6-7 years of development experience in the private sector. Most of that has been with C/C++ development in both Windows and Unix platforms. I did a little bit of Java but not much.

After a layoff, I recently took a position in a Govt agency where I am doing development with the following technologies : Java, JSP, Servlets and Weblogic.

My thinking was that learning these new skills would round off my skill set as I see a lot more posts with Java (or Java + C++) than C++ alone.

However I recently see some openings in a financial software company for C++ (MS shop only with MFC and VC++) which I could qualify for.

My current dilemma is this : Should I continue in the current position or should I try for the C++ opportunity at the private firm ?
On one hand, the salary at the private firm is obviously better than my current position. But I worry that I will then lose the chance to pick up Java and web-based technologies and make myself less marketable in the long-term.

What do you all think ? Do you see a contnuing bright future for C++ ? I appreciate your giving a response.

Thanks,
AS

Arti Shah
Tuesday, June 01, 2004

There are far more positions in Java/.NET than C++. On the flip side, there is dramatically more "qualified" applications for the former than the latter, and I've noticed a trend lately that the C++ are getting extremely lucrative (while the "struts Java programmer" is becoming a low paying position).

Tuesday, June 01, 2004

Pick whichever job is better, irrespective of the programming language.

AEB
Tuesday, June 01, 2004

Learn both.

Sassy
Tuesday, June 01, 2004

Java is the new VB, it's popular now, loads of jobs.
But C++ is not going anywhere.

Products tend to go though a few of phases.
1. Lets code like hell in (VB/Java) and get the thing out the door.
2. Product becomes successful.
3. Customers want scalability and multiple platforms.