Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Motivation

Hi,

I was hoping to get some advice from y'all. Basically this is my situation. I own a small computer software company that has around 8 clients using the software. The software sells for between $20-30K USD into a vertical market that is in difficulty. I used to sub-let some office space but recently moved my office into an extra room in my basement. I spend the day dealing with customer support issues, general business type stuff and trying to find new customers.

I think that I spend too much time surfing the net and my motivation to make the business succesful is lacking. I am not totally convinced of the viability of the business even though I have been doing this for 3 years full time.

Any ideas how I can start the fire again? I was hoping to get some ideas or suggestions on motivation. The thought of making more money just doesn't seem to be pushing my along.

Thanks,

Kevin Moore
Monday, May 31, 2004

Can you find a mentor-like person? Someone you can meet with every month or two to briefly describe what you've been up to, and get a little advice?

Often verbalizing your successes can be more benificial than anything you'll get back from your listener. It also would reinforce some kind of accountability.

Don't know how easy it would be to find someone like that though.

Additionally, I'd suggest joing several user groups in the area, depending on what languages, platforms, etc. you're involved in, or interested in. It gets you out of the house, and human contact is essential.

Edward
Monday, May 31, 2004

- Read this message board - its always good to know however bad you feel there is always somebody worse.
- Visit trade shows and see what other companies are doing
- If you are at home at 9pm and suddenly feel like going downstairs to work, then do so! Much better to work when you want to, then sit around during "normal hours" twiddling your thumbs