Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Master's thesis adds value to work experience?

I am starting my masters thesis in cs part time while working full time as a developer.I have completed all required courses and have my thesis left.I have 3 years of work experience mostly in Java and C++, in a wide variety of domains.
Currently I am doing J2EE/Web stuff. Previously I have worked in computer graphics and data mining in 2 other companies.
I want to do something practical in my thesis, which would add value on top of my work experience.
My choices are -

1. theoretical work involving new algorithms/graph theory
2. Work on wireless network simulators
3. Visual tools for software engineering

I am pretty much equally inclined on each of these topics, but which would add more value in my work, rather then in an academic sense?

Anon
Sunday, May 30, 2004

1 is fuzzy - you'll get some interest, but it sounds like "typical MS stuff" - in other words, not really much in the way of practical use. UNLESS you plan to work in areas where it has distinct practical applications (engineering, financials, etc)

2 sounds interesting, and may be a hot thing in the next decade as more and more wireless comes to market - I'd recommend studies dealing with scalability and signal density.

3 has potential - if you do a credible analysis of what software engineers really need/want in software UI's (see the emacs thread - it's a nice objective analysis), then you could end up working for MS, IBM, Sun, etc as a human factors engineer. But it could also end up to be a lot of wasted time. :-)

My $.02, anyway.

Philo

Philo
Sunday, May 30, 2004

You mean you can only choose from three different topics? Weird.

However, don't take the theoretical one, unless you're really really interested - it will be hard to come up with something original otherwise. And originality is the key when it comes to a master's thesis, as is my experience. Do something new and you'll be halfway already.

Good luck.