Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

C++ Hello world with void

I am new to programming in C++ and have run into a problem compiling a simple "Hello World" program in dev-C++.  The program is as follows:

#include <stdio.h>
#include<conio.h>

void Hello()
{
    printf("Hello World");
    }

int main()
{
    Hello;
    getch();
    return 0;
}

When I attempt to run the program I simply get a blank screen.  I woud be much obliged if anyone could assist me  with this problem.

Nick Zaillian
Tuesday, April 13, 2004

How low are we going to go?

I keep promising myself not to grunt and complain, but how can I possibly help myself?!

Is this a joke? I really hope so.

Hello;  should be Hello();

grunt
Tuesday, April 13, 2004

IIRC its around about nowish that US students are getting their courses sorted out, and maybe started.

what possible better place to post questions than on a forum dedicated to teaching young students?

oh, wait....

FullNameRequired
Tuesday, April 13, 2004

Nick,

Im eagerly awating the day when the professor introduces you to pointers. Good luck.

Patrik
Tuesday, April 13, 2004

why are you all being such bastards? There are plenty of languages (Perl, VB spring to mind), that allow you to call a function without the braces.

Not knowing the entire syntax of a language does not disqualify anyone as a programmer.

So, if you want to be smart and comment on this poor fellows problem at all: Why not explain what the statement

Hello;

means? I don't recall the C++ semantics, but in python the value of the expression `Hello` is a function object. Maybe also in C++ (I'm not sure, though, you might need to dereference it).

Nick, find someplace nice and friendly to ask your questions. Being flamed here is just not fun.

Daren Thomas
Tuesday, April 13, 2004

Darren,

>Not knowing the entire syntax of a language does not >disqualify anyone as a programmer.

No, thats entierly correct, but not being able to solve the