Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Java Desktop Demo

Last night I went to a demo at Sun Microsystems of the Java Desktop.  The lure was lots of free beer in exchange for some sales demos.  It seemed like a fair trade.  The demo put on did not impress me too much but I already had played around with the Java Desktop already but I was there for the food and drinks, of course.
The only thing that really bothers me about the Java Desktop is the name.  It is just a shameless exploitation of the Java name.  It should be called the Sun Linux Desktop, which is really what it is.  It really is a re-packaging with support of Suse Linux.  As Linux distributions it is not bad.  I have been playing around with Linux for about seven years and this is the first distribution that I think “normal” people may actually have a chance with.  Really this whole thing is intended as just a cheap knock off of Windows.  I can see some market for it but if I was Microsoft I wouldn't lose sleep.  What I found most entertaining about the demo were that most questions from the audience which where pretty much, can it run Windows applications?
But since Sun is a hardware company at heart they were pushing their thin client machines.
My favorite part was the demo of the 3D desktop Project Looking Glass that we could play with. (http://wwws.sun.com/software/looking_glass/demo.html)  It took me all of 30 seconds to bring it to its knees and the presenter had to turn the on and off again.  Nothing with the demo impressed by “I got to have this feature” but it was entertaining.  The only thing that was good was the way you switched desktops.  The background was a panoramic picture and each desktop was a different slice of the image.  I liked typing in the console and flipping it around to see it backwards.  I think one day all desktops will be 3D like this once someone figures out how to make it useable. 

Bill Rushmore
Friday, March 26, 2004