Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Desktop app. Data storage / File Format?

Hello All,

Please forgive me for asking what may seem like a dumb question. I am currently a web developer and don't have any desktop software experience.

In Joel's Craftsmanship article he mentions the CityDesk file is a "database".

"...especially since our underlying database is multiuser and doesn't mind lots of processes banging on it at the same time."

And I believe I have read him referring to the MS Jet Engine, which I think is used to talk to a database on a Windows machine. Until recently I did not know you could use a DB on a desktop app. (I'm a web developer! Please don't laugh!! :) )

If I were to make a desktop application in Java (please don't start an argument about why that shouldn't be done), does anyone have a good suggestion for a DB to use? For the sake of this question, let's pretend the application is an Office-like application (like Microsoft's Office or OpenOffice.org's suite), and it would be really cool if multiple people could use the (single) file at the same time. (Like how Joel says CityDesk can.)

If anyone can point me in the right direction or educate me a little more on the Desktop Software storage stuff I would greatly appreciate it!

Thanks in advance!
-michael.

Michael Sica
Monday, December 08, 2003

Have a look with MS Access first, this will help you understand a lot of the issues.

Realist

I would agree.

Have a play around with MS access first, especially using VBA, if you are only coming to terms with the concept of a database on a desktop application, then this sort of playing around would be a good place to start.

MS Access stores the database in a single .mdb file (please correct me if I am wrong). And you can use the MS Access software to create the initial database, and then access the database using your code.