Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

MSDN Subscription question

http://msdn.microsoft.com/subscriptions/pricing/default.asp

Can somone recommend a subscription package?  I can provide details about myself if anyone wants to ask, "Well it depends on you; what do you want?"  However, if no one minds my asking, what has worked for you?

Andrew Burton
Friday, January 23, 2004

Well, it DOES depend on what you want...

I'm subscribed to MSDN Pro which gives me the quarterly MSDN Library updates, ALL development tools including Visual Studio, and ALL operating systems. I'd buy most of that stuff anyway (i.e. Library, VS.NET, current "Pro" OS) so the price is okay.

If you always need the current version of Office, too, you might want to consider the next higher level (whatever its name).

Chris Nahr
Friday, January 23, 2004

Chris, I'm a professional developer, but my development is almost always done on Linux/Unix systems with Perl or PHP.  I'm mostly curious (and I should have asked this in the first post, so I apologize for not doing that) which package someone would recommend for a person who wants to broaden his development horizons by working on a few open source, Windows projects.

Thanks.

Andrew Burton
Friday, January 23, 2004

If you're still deciding whether you like the environment, you have a couple far less expensive ways to go, assuming you already have XP Pro on your box.

1. Download the .NET SDK and do it all on the command line. It's not as draconian as it sounds, since you can use makefiles or NAnt to help your builds.

2. Buy a copy of Visual C# Standard Edition for $99.

Brad Wilson (dotnetguy.techieswithcats.com)
Friday, January 23, 2004

Yeah, what Brad said. I like to have the MSDN Library installed on my system but actually you can browse most (all?) of the contents on the Microsoft site, so if you're just exploring Windows development I wouldn't buy any MSDN subscription right now.