Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

How do we shut down pirate sites in China?

As a small software company, one of the largest enemies we have are the pirate sites.

The pirate sites distribute pirated copies of, well, lots of software, including ours.

Whenever our software gets pirated, the number of sales drops significantly.

I studied the issue and I shut down some of the pirate sites by writing their web hosting providers, and telling them (with proof) that the sites contain pirate software.

Most web hosters will shut down a site they host if you can prove to them that it contains pirate software.

However, there is one problem:

Many of the large web sites containing lots of pirated software are hosted in China. There are pirate web sites, hosted in China, which carry hundreads of different software packages!

Altough the sites are usually written in Chinese, many people in the US know about them, and download pirated software from them.

I never succeeded in taking down any of the sites hosted in China.

I wonder: is there an authority (police / electronic fraud investigation division, or something) in China that I can write to, and have them shut down the sites?

Software piracy hurts especially small software development companies.

Is there any institution in China which combats software piracy, and which can take down pirate sites?

Thank you!

Jericho
Sunday, September 21, 2003

This is a little-used provision in the DMCA that allows for an copyright owner to get an injunction ordering backbone providers to block access to sites from the US.

Last year the site Listen4ever.com was distributing thousands of songs copyrighted by RIAA members. The RIAA sued AT&T Broadband, Cable and Wireless, Sprint and UUNet to get them to block access to the site from the US. After the lawsuit was filed, the website came down the the RIAA dropped the lawsuit. See http://www.wired.com/news/mp3/0,1285,54689,00.html

John Brophy
Sunday, September 21, 2003