Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Construction sorrows...

>Well, what I've learned from my first large construction >project is that this is hogwash. The building industry >doesn't know how to do anything on schedule or on >budget, either.

I have two years experience supervising and managing building construction projects. Add to that five years in road construction. My experience is that General Contractors are very good at scheduling their projects. 

Along the way, they have to often work in the schedules of many subcontractors, as well as weather concerns, hour restrictions due to noise bylaws and traffic patterns, material delays and availability problems, material cost changes, machinery breakdowns, environmental delays, union requirements, and more.

I think if software projects had to deal with some of these complexities, the current situation would look like a dream.  I think if we are going to learn anything from the construction world, it's that a firm plan is required from the outset.

Perhaps it's best not to judge someone's expertise based on one obviously poor experience.

Spam
Thursday, September 18, 2003

Spam - point taken, but if my Project Manager for my last software project were to list what caused the schedule to be delayed (business subject matter expert schedule availability, time to order and install hardware from vendors, evaluation of new tools and resource ramp up time, legacy code integration problems) they all sound like similar complexities. The person who pays for something gets three related things: the estimate, the completed work at a point in time and the bill. When the latter two don't jive with the first, dissatisfaction will result regardless of the specific problems or excuses. I agree a plan is a valuable tool, but any type of project is subject to unexpected issues to arise.

m