Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

What are your thoughts on SAP

Hi, I used to do coldfusion, asp, vb, php etc and now I am a techno-functional SAP consultant (don't ask).

I feel like such a sellout for some reason. Sometimes I see ppl doing asp/php and wonder if I would be happier doing it.

What are your thoughts on gorilla companies like SAP and their software?

- caleb

caleb
Tuesday, September 16, 2003

> coldfusion, asp, vb, etc...

Some people would say you sold out long ago.

Not saying you did, but there will always be some C kernel hacker pointing a finger at you. SAP isn't so bad, I've seen some installations that were pretty neat. They actually met the customers needs.

Go on, do good at your job, hold your head up high, and don't kick small puppies.

Spam

"What are your thoughts on gorilla companies like SAP and their software?"

I don't feel my opinion or feelings toward SAP should matter.  If customers are happy with whatever ERP package they have purchased then more power to them.

Selfish reason #1 for disliking ERP packages

They seem to me to be the equivalent of mainframe software packages that were produced and sold during the 1970s and 1980s.  While these packages have many selling points, the only one that scares me goes something like this, "You don't need an army of programmers to develop and maintain equivalent in-house type of software systems".  I am always going to dislike anything that has the potential to threaten my livelihood.

More practical objection #1

They require companies to change the way they do business.  Although ERP packages can be customized some people feel that software should not dictate how you run your business.

One Programmer's Opinion