Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

MySQL Installation & Configuration

I recently downloaded the open source version of MySQL & MyODBC (binaries not source code) to practice with before buying the commercial version.

I am running Windows XP Professional with all critical fixes & patches installed on my PC.

I have no DBA background and I have not used a command line interface to any significant degree since Win95 days.

Can anyone give me simple instructions on how to configure MySQL so that I can start using it. Don't assume I know anything:)

As an alternative, can anyone recommend a book that will help me along these lines; again, a beginners text.

Regards,

Todd D. Levy

TOdd D. Levy
Saturday, September 13, 2003

When I have used MySQL in the past, their online documentation has been fairly decent. If you want to know how to setup a login, it is in the contents, if you want to know the format of an insert, it is in the contents.

http://www.mysql.com/documentation/index.html

The link has some online books as well, but I have been able to get by with their online documentation.

BTW - Isn't your time worth paying a little extra for an MS SQL Server license? Reason I ask is because SQL Server does really well with little maintenance/management for average work and is windows user friendly. Their main tool for management is Enterprise Manager, which IMO is much more polished than what you will find for MySQL. To be sure, I am not saying SQL Server is better than MySQL, but for non-DBA-windows users (as I think you are describing yourself), it might be a better fit.

Good Luck!

m
Saturday, September 13, 2003

"Reason I ask is because SQL Server does really well with little maintenance/management for average work and is windows user friendly. "

The reason I'd ask is because MySql is still a limited rdbms.  Does it even have ATOMICITY yet? 

Mike
Sunday, September 14, 2003

Todd, what is your goal?