Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Overcoming Procrastination (HELP!)

Hi guys,

I'm a sofware developer who is feeling a bit burned out.

I'm a good performer at work but beside work I dont do much, I just surf the web for hours or chat on the MSN.

I wanted to start working on a small game in order to self publish on the internet and go the gym and work out but I simply cannot because I just can't get anything done after work, I feel so tired and lazy.

Can anyone has some tips and advices to give me in order to fight procrastination

seriously this is killing me, there's so much I want to get done and I cannot get started, it's frustrating ...

Thanks for listening!

A Depressed guy!

A Depressed Procrastinator
Saturday, September 13, 2003

I was like that. But the bills kept piling up and with all the expenses I decided to get a least a little work done each day. After a while the home business found some steam and now I am too busy dealing with all the orders. It's not much but the business pushes you forward after that.

Anonymous

As stupid as it sounds, just do it.  Give yourself triggers to reinforce the fact that you are wasting your time.

You corpulent pile of blubber!  (just my personal method <g>)

Exercise is a natural anti-depressent as well as an excellent method to increase motivation.  Pick something you like, bike riding or jogging in the park is a great way to girl (or guy) watch or even (gasp!) interact.

I'll have gotten very high from yoga and long distance running and it also increases virility and lessons the need for sleep... blah, blah

B#

I started  to disconnect my phone in the mornings and I was amazed at the productivity increase and how little need I had to surf.  I kept telling myself I needed the net to do research and about once a week I actually do NEED it.

B#