Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Why outsourcing often fails

I am a developer at one of the Eastern Europe provider of software development services.

Several companies in USA and EU outsource software development to us.

I have noticed that many people in this forum say that the quality of the outsourced work is bad.

I notice what is happening around here. We do most projects right, but there are some projects that we deliver and are of bad quality.

In most of the times, this happens because the clients insist to get an extremely low price.

Example:

An US company wants some software done. They shop around in the US, and determine they can get the software done by an US firm, if they pay $ 200,000.

Then, they come to us.

We say, ok, we can do your software for $ 80,000.

At this price, we can write quality software, and make some profit for ourselves.

They say the price is too large, and push and push and push and push until they get the price down to $ 40,000.

Now, this is absurd! The truth is that we can not produce their software, with good quality, at that price.

This adds to the fact that US companies often are very impatient and want things done yesterday.

But, sometimes, our company CEO accepts the deal, and then has an under-manned and over-worked team to get the software done.

The result is, of course, of bad quality.

I know - our CEO shouldn't accept this kind of deals, but sometimes we have to.

For example, in the summer there are usually 3 months with very few projects, usually, and we sometimes have to accept a "bad" project in order to get trough summer without losses.

So - my point is - if you want to get an extremely low price, the quality of the product will have to suffer.

If US companies accepted to spend a little more money and wait a little longer to get the software, they would get higher quality projects done, and still be less expensive than doing them in the US.

Master Blaster
Friday, September 12, 2003