Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Critique of Eclipse IDE?

I wonder how many of you have tried the Eclipse IDE (www.eclipse.org), whether for Java development or something else, and if you have tried it, what did you think of a development tool like this written in Java?  Is this the future, or merely a well done one-off?  Or maybe you didn't think it was even well done.

I'd like to hear your comments.

Mitch & Murray (from downtown)
Wednesday, September 10, 2003

I just started using Eclipse - I am new to J2EE so I have not extensively used other IDEs.

I tried jDeveloper from Oracle, JBuilder from Borland and Eclipse.

I opted out of JBuilder because of the $$ and jDeveloper kept freezing on me. But I was using jDeveloper on WinXP - Oracle seems to lock up Windows pretty much.

I settled on Eclipse as it has tight integration to WebSphere - IBM sent me a free developers copy.

And best of all - it is not a memory hog.

As I mentioned above - I am new to J2EE and have not worked on any commercial projects - just little modules to learn the fundamentals.

On a seperate rant - when I was search for info on J2EE and IDEs etc; I found that alot of info was pretty dogmatic - it was hard to find unbias and rational opinions. Also there seems to be lots of vaporware in J2EE.

Ram Dass

I like the Eclipse ability to hot-swap code into a running debug session.

I dislike the slower speed compared to other IDEs and editors.

Right now I'm using IDEA due to its better refactoring, code browsing, and overall editing features.

I still miss the hot-swap feature though.

Another feature I liked was the ability to keep multiple project directories open at once. IDEA sort of lets you do it, but each project is in a different frame (which I find harder to navigate).

NathanJ

The next version of IDEA (Aurora) supports hot swap.

Nick Brosnahan