Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Charge by hour

How does this charge by hour thing work for freelancers and consultants? Suppose, as a consultant I tell the client that I charge $75 per hour. How would the client be able to check how much time actually goes in the task and if I'm not overcharging them ... u know? I can work on the project for just 3 hours but bill them the next day for 6 hours of work.

Ruth
Monday, September 08, 2003

If your three hours was worth six, in their estimation, then you'd likely get away with that but done consistently you'll get found out.

For the times when I have to bill hourly then there's a minimum billable which is half a day.  Also time spent actively doing isn't just the only time you spend on working.  You also have to bill thinking time somehow.

I largely bill fixed price even for small jobs and all of that is factored in.

Simon Lucy

charging by the hour works mostly for onsite,

Prakash S

I usually send the client a timesheet, something like:

09:00-10:00 Worked on the algorithm for task X, and finished it.

10:00-10:30 Wrote the interface of control C. Also wrote the constructor and destructor, and a rough first implementation of the paint method.

So, the client knows exactly where the time went, and I bill according to the timesheet.

Most of the time I give some work for free - for example, if it is an 100 hour project, I show the client the full timesheet for 100 hours, but then only bill 94 hours, and tell the client that I offer them 6 hours of work for free.

I strive to perform better than the clients expect, and to charge a little less than clients expect, and it's generally ok.

John K.

Hm.
Clients are not as dumb as you think they are! ;)

If you overcharge on some ocassion, they might not notice but keep doing that and you are going to loose a valuable client + get bad mouth in return.