Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

How to Dress?

I am starting a new job in two weeks that has srict dress requirements. It will be dress shirt and pants, with occational ties days as well.

Now, I have only worked in no-dress code environments, so I am a novice :)

How does one iron the shirts every day?

I am about to go and but around 7 to 10 dress shirts. The thing that is puzzling me is how am I going to find the time to iron them? I naturally will be putting them to wash at day's end.

I can take them to the dry cleaners - but won't this make the shirts fray faster and would that be expensive. How do folks get around this dilema?

John Doe
Wednesday, September 03, 2003

John,

Find a cleaners near you that does shirts for $2 or less. Buy 2 weeks worth of shirts (10?) and plan a weekly visit to the cleaners at the end of each week.

Although this sounds politically incorrect, I have found in the last 20 years of doing this that Asian businesses know what time it is. They offer excellent service and decent prices with few exceptions. A lot of the gringo establishments have spotty service and often overcharge.

Order them with no starch. I haven't noticed any extra wear. In fact, I think they last longer than if I did it myself. Having them done professionally takes the worries away from you. You'd much rather have fun or worry about the job than worry over doing heavy laundry/ironing each week.

StickyWicket

Use starch in summer months when it's hot. The shirt will be stiffer, cling less to you, and be cooler.

Always get 100% cotton shirts, worsted wool suits, and silk ties.

Match your belt to your shoes and your belt buckle to your watch band.

No fashion sense? Just get a dark blue suit and white shirts. You can't go wrong.

When you're evaluating a suit, grab the sleeve and crunch it up as much as you can. When you let go a good suit will spring back crisply without any creases. If it doesn't do this it's going to look wrinkled by the end of the day.