Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Rant on Linux on the Desktop

I am new to Linux. Just started experimenting. I am a fairly competent programmer - in the Windows environment though. I know this will not be thought of highly by my peers.

I greatly appreciate the comraderie of Linux and the help I have receive from fellow developers.

My rant - Linux is still far from user friendly. We are analyzing moving our desktops to Linux at the company I work at - 2000 or so PCs. Now I am a small fry - so I just help make recommendations.

There are so many challenges in making Linux more accesable to lay users - the simple act of downloading and running an application is a two or three step process and not very easy to follow.

Now I understand that as I am new to the Linux community - my creds are limited. And also I could be mistaken about some of the hardships as there could be easy ways that I am not aware.

I am not the biggest fan of Microsoft - I hate to put a $$ value on the amount of time we spent with hot fixes, undocumented features, virus warnings, worm 'holes', and the cost of dealing with MS support.

I was wondering if there are posters who know of initiatives to making Linuz more user friendly that it becomes easy to use for the most techno-phobe out there?

Marlene
Tuesday, September 02, 2003

You're gonna have an equally fun time doing some of those, and some slightly different, tasks with Linux. Enjoy!

Mickey Petersen

Try the Mandrake Linux distribution.

www.mandrake.com

TJ Haeser, The Brazillian dude

Could you elaborate on how downloading and running an app is different on Linux vs Windows? What are the steps involved in each?

Darren Collins

You don't seem to understand...this *is* the user-friendly version of Linux (seriously).