Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Extreme Programming

Just what the heck is Extreme Programming (XP)? I am tired of reading the allusive one-liners like, "XP is a methodology that empowers developers to confidently respond to changing customer requirements...blah blah blah..."

Sathyaish Chakravarthy
Monday, September 01, 2003

XP is a methodology for software development like Rational Unified Process (RUP), Microsoft Development Framework, Agile Modeling, and SCRUM.

There are many more - there are development methodologies that tend to be the favor of the month.

I am not an expert of XP... my understand from what I have heard is that it has rigid rules.

Methodologies are important especially in arger projects, but very often the development team will have developed sets of processes to best fit its products/needs.

Consulting firms may have to be more flexible to fit the methodologies of their clients.

A former manager of mine had very good advice - never trust a consultant who spend his/her time writing papers instead of actual experience.

He mentioned the above advice - as our bosses had bought into a software development methodology developed by a professor at University of Illinois (Urbana).

The rest, as they say, is history.

Ram Dass

Google is your friend.

http://www.extremeprogramming.org/

Philo

Philo

Google certainly might be, but I don't see any signs of bonhomie in the multitudinous links that it throws back at you, when all I have time for is to rummage through them. I was expecting someone would tell me like I were a four year old, about what's so great about XP. And is it something that's cropped up only six years ago? Or are they trying to make a fool out those of us who'd willingly subscribe to the wisdom of creative expounders of metaphysics who otherwise know very little of real life?

Sathyaish Chakravarthy