Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Contracting, Permament, Unemployment, oh my!

Well I have an interesting situation I wondered if I could get some feedback on.

My ultimate goal is to have my own business.

About a year ago, I graduated from a community college with an ATA in "Computer System Design & Development."  Basically, it was supposed to teach programming, although I didn't learn even one valuable thing, and it was all a complete waste of money.

Prior to that, I had spent 4 years in the Air Force and also made a gaming network that was pulling in something like $1500-$2000 a month in ad revenue.  6 months after I got out of the Air Force, the ad market died and I was left with no income.  My options were to take a low-paying, non-technical job or go to this community college and use up my GI Bill money.  I chose the latter but also got into $14,000 in debt.

About 4 months after graduation, I was hired at a local software company that frankly sucked.  After working there (coding perl & PHP) for about a month, I realized that they were selling spyware disguised as a virus scanner (I worked on their billing system and company intranet, so I wasn't really involved with the product).  I realized as time went on that the company had no chance of survival and I wasn't happy there, anyway.

I was assigned to the "optimization" group where I was part of a 3-person development team tasked with taking all the personal information gleaned from the spyware portion of the software and putting into hourly/daily/weekly/monthly/yearly reports that they used to make decisions on the future of the product.

After 2 more months (total of 3 months), the entire optimization group, including myself, up and quit.  (We of course gave our two weeks notice).