Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Technical College Degree

I have an associates degree from a technical school and haven't been able to get a programming position.  Is this because a tech school degree is worthless?  I mean only 6 people out of 35 in my class got jobs.  Is this normal?  Now I get mad when I see advertisements for like ITT tech claiming that you'll make big money and land a job after graduation.  The tech school isn't much help either.  Sure they post jobs, but it seems most employers won't even interview you if you have tech degree.  I had been programming for about 10 years as a hobby before going to school, so i think i'm pretty good as far programming goes, maybe not the business end of things, but you have to start somewhere.  Should i get a BS degree, will that help?  Or i am just totally out of luck?  You have to have experience to get in?

Also what's with all the repeat advertisements for jobs.  The same ad posted week after week?  I hate being used and I think that's what some companies and recruiters are doing.  Anyway, guess i'm done complaining.

SOB
Wednesday, August 20, 2003

"I mean only 6 people out of 35 in my class got jobs.  Is this normal?"

I don't know if you heard, but there's a recession going on right now.

Brad Wilson (dotnetguy.techieswithcats.com)

I'm employed and have no degree.  I know people with Master's who can't find work. 

Your mileage may vary depending upon what demonstrable skills you have and where you live, etc.

The market is ridiculously tight right now, as I'm sure you're aware.  Having a BS probably would open up a few interviews, but you should absolutely not view it as a guarantee that you will be hired once you get it, especially if the current trend of a soft economy and rush to outsource programming jobs continues.