Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Switching Programming Paradigms

I'm a developer working on web sites for a large media company. All our development is done in the TCL scripting language on the Vignette platform.

My real passion is UI programming in Windows Forms. Though I have done Windows programming in the past and tinker with it now, it's been almost 5 years since I've done it professionally.

My question is, do you think that having been away from Windows programming for 5 years will make it incredibly difficult to get a job as a Windows developer?

With the rate of change in technology and the introduction of the .NET platform (which I'm trying to learn in my spare time), I feel incredibly out of the loop.  Does that hurt my chances of getting a Windows development job?

Tired of Vignette
Wednesday, August 20, 2003

Maybe difficult, but not impossible.

One thing you can do is to look for one-job-away jobs. 

That is, if you can't get a job doing you want directly, because of experience, get the job that would provide the experience that you need to get the job that you want.

Peter Breton

Don't want to kick off another "best IDE" thread, but make sure you start developing with a decent IDE, like ... Visual Studio .NET.

Johnny Bravo

Peter, I guess in my position a one-job-away job would be doing ASP.NET programming. It's still web-based, so I can use all the stuff I already know about stateless programming, HTML, CSS, XML, XSLT, JavaScript, etc. Since it would be ASP.NET programming, I would pick up C# or VB.NET skills and a healthy helping of understanding about the .NET platform.

That's a good idea. It would at least get me out of TCL world!

Tired of Vignette

"Does that hurt my chances of getting a Windows development job?"

Hard to say.