Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Job (and life) Advice

Dear all:

I'm an American that's been living outside the United States ever since I graduated from university 6 years ago. In that time I've gotten married and became a father 8 months ago.

My wife and I want to return to the United States by the end of this year. I work in web-development, my wife with children.

Ideally, I'd like to be able to find a job from where I am but close associates of mine tell me -- rightly -- that it'll be almost impossible to find a decent job without currently being in the U.S.

So, my wife and I are thinking that we should pack up all our stuff and head back to the U.S. without having any employment secured. Then, after arrival start looking for a job immediately. (We'd initially stay with my folks in Florida.)

This wouldn't be such a concern if I was single or even just married but we now have a baby daughter.  In the country that we currently live there's national health insurance for all, regardless if you're currently employed or not. The U.S. on the other hand....

So, can you provide me with any advice as to what to do about job hunting from abroad, health insurance, and anything else I've missed.

Thanks.

Chi Lambda
Tuesday, August 19, 2003

If you've got the right kind of experience, you could find a job in the US. However, I'd strongly recommend targeting the Northern Virginia/DC area - we've had job listings throughout the recession, and I get at least a call a month without even looking.

Pretty good place to raise a kid, too.

Philo

Philo
Tuesday, August 19, 2003

The DC area is a good place to raise a kid??? You mean in general?

Anonymous
Tuesday, August 19, 2003

I'll second Philo's advice; I also live in that area, and have seen a similar trend (though I don't get headhunter calls as often as Philo reports them).