Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Learning windows device drivers

Any advice on learning how to write a windows device driver?  I've got lots of experience in writing them for pSos, VRTX, VxWorks, Rexx, and Linux, but this will be my first Windows driver.  What do I need, VC++?  What's a good book to buy (The Windows equivalent to Linux Device Drivers)?  Target OS is XP.

snotnose
Friday, August 15, 2003

Not sure of any good books on the subject.

You need the Microsoft DDK (there are many example drivers).  You'll find that the architecture is very similar to what you know.  There are tools/wizards to make things easier.  Check out NuMega/Compuware and the DriverStudio product or (can't remember who did this one)the product WinDK.

MikeG
Friday, August 15, 2003

At the very least, you'll need Visual Studio and the Windows DDK.  I think MS pulled it from their web site as a free download.  You now need to be an MSDN subscriber to get it.

Writing Windows Device Drivers is a lot of work.  A "hello world" driver in Windows is about 2000 lines.  Longhorn is supposed to include a higher-level Windows driver framework to make life easier.

The DDK comes with a lot of examples, but they are pretty scary.

If this is a one-off driver, and the driver doesn't have to be high-performance (network drivers, video drivers), maybe you should look at Jungo WinDriver.  http://www.jungo.com 

WinDriver will help you get a good driver working in a few days, but for more serious driver development, maybe you should at Compuware's driver products.  Basically, they offer a set of C++ classes to hide some of the raw DDK code.  I haven't really used it though.

Good site for getting started:
http://www.osronline.com/

Good Books:
"Programming the Microsoft Windows Driver Manual"
by Walter Oney
"Windows NT Device Driver Development"
by Viscarola and Mason
"Inside Windows 2000"
by David A. Solomon and Mark Russinovich

Bad Books:
Anything by Chris Kant

Myron A. Semack