Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Hi and Thanks

I wrote this post after reading The Iceberg Secret -

http://www.joelonsoftware.com/articles/fog0000000356.html

Absolutely fascinating,

I have been reading up on this website, for about 14 hours, I am a user dissatisfied with what I get, and want to 'build' for myself, I have learnt so much about the background for coding and so many pitfalls have been exposed so far, I am a far wiser person, and realise sadly, that I am one of those users who knows the 10% 'above water' A month ago I realised it will take me a year to get to grips with the programming and stopped rushing into building and more on understanding the basic structures of different applications, I mean I got to the point of not thinking of the UI but to the actual 'real stuff'

To be honest, I really can't wait to get stuck in to the other 90% I have limited 'basic' (and I mean basic, the last time I studied programming was twenty years ago at school) knowledge but think I will need so much more and can think of five different languages I need to learn so far!

I don't see much code around Joels site, but the WISDOM is immense,

Thank you all

Shauny

Shaun Crowther
Wednesday, August 13, 2003

Shawn

Although my enthusiasm is somewhat more bridled, I agree with the sentiment.

It's a great site!

B#
Wednesday, August 13, 2003

Shaun-

Good for you!  Most people with half a brain can learn to write code -- and it's usually bad code.  (=  Only time and experimentation will tell you whether you *are* a programmer, as opposed to being someone who can program.  (One is a skill, the other is an identity and an outlook on the world.)

I can suggest one thing that may save you a few years of frustration and pain:  start with one language and get to know it reasonably well.  And make damn sure it isn't C or C++!  ;>  I hear good things about Python (see link below), and the limited exposure I've had to it backs that up.