Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

What tools do you use to create your feature set?

Hi All,

Last week, I have being assign a new groupware project from my company. This is my first time writing the feature set and use cases for the software requirement document for such a big project. It's going to have a feature set similar to MS Exchange Server. Normally, I either use a spreedsheet or a word processor to write the feature set and then use an UML editor or Visio to create the use cases for small and medium size projects. I have being pondering what is the best way and best tool to write the feature set and use case that it can be easily sortable and viewable by different criterias. For example, I want to sort the feature set by release and risk, or by release and priority, or by functional area. If I write this in a word document or excel, I can't sort the spreedsheet or document and also it's very hard to navigate throught. Therefore, I thought the best option is to write and store the feature set and use cases in a database where you can easily create different types of sorting templates. That way, you can export them to a html document as your final feature set or use case document. Also, you can easily create your own reports and charts. Since this is similar to a bug tracking system and shouldn't be that hard to write one either. Therefore, I thought I can easily find a tool that will fulfill this requirements. Unfortunately, I search all over the web from various software portal sites, news sites, and magazine sites and came back for the past 4 days and came back with an empty hand. So I ask you all. What tools do most big companies use to create and manage their software requirement documents, specially for the feature set and use case? How would you tackle this problem? What's your thought on this? Thanks in advance.

-Kenneth

Kenneth Zha
Sunday, August 10, 2003

It sounds like you want whats called a "requirements tracibility matrix"