Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

University recommendation - HCI

Hi!

Thought I'd ask here in the hope that some UI geeks were reading Joel on software.

I'm a programmer looking for a really good master's degree in CS/HCI in USA. I've been looking at Carnegie Mellon HCI and Georgia Tech but I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on the subject. Which one is better? Is there another one that you would recommend?

I'm looking for computer software oriented studies, less interested in working in the area of say, car stereo design ;-)

Thanks,

Gauti

Gauti Reynisson
Wednesday, August 06, 2003

heard good things about CMU and Gatech...

what you should really look into is the prof's you will work with, the type of stuff they do, are they difficult people to work with, etc. If you are in the US - you should visit both them both, talk to the people there - that would be your best bet.

Prakash S

Anyone here have an HCI degree?  How do you like your job/field?  I asked on the comp.human-factors newsgroup about jobs and generally it seemed like they were the first to go when the economy goes sour.  I think it is an important job, but I can imagine how difficult it can be to prove that you really add value.

I am interested in this a bit, but maybe not enough to take a pay cut over being a programmer and having even fewer job prospects.  Just wonderring what other people's experiences are.

Andy

I don't know that you can get a degree specifically in HCI there, but I know a guy that teaches at NC State who did HCI research for his doctorate.  His name is Martin Dulberg (I may have spelled that wrong).  You could try to contact him; he would probably know who has a good program and who doesn't.

One-Armed Bandit

I went to Virginia Tech as an undergrad, still live in town, and two of their HCI professors, plus their grad students and their $700,000 in grant money, just left for Penn State.

I'm no expert in the area overall, though.

Mikayla