Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

RAM - 1 GB over 512MB?

Hi All,

I am planning to upgrade my PC.
I have selected Athlon XP Processor and an ASUS Motherboard.
The only thing right now I am stuck is how much RAM to go for?

I have already ordered 512MB RAM.
I was wondering if adding another 512 MB RAM will give me enough bang for my bucks or not?

I am planning to use comp for Photoshop, Web app development in PHP,MySQL.
and most importantly, I am studying .NET currently (heavy use of VS.NET in coming days!!)

So what you suggest? Shall I go in for 1 GIG RAM?

Your suggestions are appreciated!
Regards,
JD

JD
Monday, August 04, 2003

If you can afford it, then why not?

John Topley (www.johntopley.com)
Monday, August 04, 2003

512 is the very minimum for working as a pro (as you).
maybe in a year the minimum will be 1024, then change now and use the minimum pieces or later you can't upgrade to 2048 (and you will need this).

if you open several MS IE6 windows and other programs you eat a lot of memory, and simply memory=performance if you maintain opened too programs.

Guillermo
Monday, August 04, 2003

For some things (RAM, hard drive, CPU speed)  Bigger is always better.

If you can afford it -- buy it.  You'll be glad you did.

Maytag Repairman
Monday, August 04, 2003

I think 1 GB is worth it when working under Windows XP.

In the beginning, things will work great with 512 MB.

But after a few months, Windows displays an inexplicable slowdown, starts chewing more RAM, etc.

This is why it's good to have 1 GB.

Michael
Monday, August 04, 2003

1 Gig over half ? Any day.

Phoenix
Monday, August 04, 2003

"But after a few months, Windows displays an inexplicable slowdown, starts chewing more RAM, etc."

Try defragging your hard disk every so often.

Norrick
Monday, August 04, 2003