Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Equity distribution in a start-up environment...

I'm a programmer/designer who recently engaged in a start-up venture with two business associates.  My two associates had some ideas that they felt were novel for a web based product management system, and they approached me to do the implementation/design of their product.

Quick personal background: I've been programming for 10 years now, and have extensive experience implementing software projects from beginning to end (this one is in java/servlets/xhtml), as well as designing user interfaces and handling the other misc. visual aspects of those products.

It's been my personal experience that when business people set out to start a technolgy company, they usually need to raise money to have their R&D completed and tech workers compensated adequately.  Otherwise, I always thought it was the tech people that retain control over the product they implemented, if they were not being compensated by a company to implement that product (even if the 'idea' did come from somewhere else).

The situation is that the two associates would like me to implement their idea, design the site/application involved for it, and contribute my own ideas to their product (they don't have a finalized design, and they're far from usability experts) for a 33% share in this "company" with an additional $5k of compensation to accout for the fact that they will be doing essentially very little while I implement this idea.