Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Interning

(why is the Subject field in bold?)

I'm currently a 2nd-year student trying to pursue a degree in Information Systems (not quite there yet in terms of academic performance, but hoping to) and am looking at what I can do over the holidays (from May to July). One option that I've been considering is working as an intern.

There are several companies that I'm looking at, including Microsoft, Accenture, etc.

Is it worthwhile applying for an internship? Are the hiring practices/interviews very different from those that you'd get if you were applying for a job?

BTW, I should mention that I'm in Singapore, if that changes anything.

Damit
Monday, July 28, 2003

I am of the opinion that your school ought to require an internship as a condition of graduation. Mine does.

In any case, I highly recomend it. To start with, you get a real idea of what 'real world' work can be. People bitching on boards doesn't count ;)

In addition, it's good money. Around here, internships are paid rather commonly, and even low, low pay for tech work is more than you'll get cashiering 8-}.

Also, if you can keep the job afterwards (not *uncommon* at least, though I couldn't tell you if that's the norm), you can probably graduate with 2-3 years of experience in you field while fresh out of college. I think that looks good ;)

"Is it worthwhile?" What have you got to lose?

I don't really know how different hiring practices would be. You'll have to approach companies differently, but beyond that I don't think there's something obvious that'd be different.

Good luck!

Mike Swieton
Monday, July 28, 2003

MSFT doesn't waste time with anyone.  Interns are expected to produce results just like anyone else.  Think of your internship as an extended interview.  What better way to secure yourself a great fulltime position when you graduate?