Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

About To Begin A Job Search...

I'm about to bid adieu to Australia and head back home to New Zealand (Auckland - hey I'll be able to work on Mozilla from Internet cafes!). I've been browsing job sites and the like and spending time staring at my resume (Google for my name if you're interested) wondering if it sets the right tone.

Here are some things going through my head:

* Is it relevant/useful to state that I've been programming (non-commercially of course) since I was about 10 years old[#]? Yesterday my project manager was looking over my shoulder and asked me how long I'd been programming - "it shows," he said. [I don't say this on my resume currently, but my PM's comments made me consider doing so].

Part of me thinks that sounds silly to mention this experience, but another part of me thinks it shows an ongoing relationship with the field, the ideas, etc and (one would hope) a degree of insight greater than my "resume experience".

If you are/were in a selection process would this be something you'd consider?

* I've hopped around a bit in the time I've been working, but 2 of the companies I've worked for in the last 5 years are no more and another 2 have had very high staff turnover rates since 2001 (others have changed hands/names several times).

I don't think that I would be as strong a candidate as I am without having taken the steps I had, still - this looks "bad" if I'm applying for a permanent role (and ideally I want a permanent role in a strong team) and it looks like I'm disloyal. Me referees would probably refute this, but I have to get to interview stage before I can get to referee stage. 

Any tips on spinning this "negative" into a "positive" on a resume (I think I can hold my own if asked about this in an interview)?

Your feedback appreciated.