Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Help Choosing a Graduate CS Department

I'm looking to get a masters in CS, but I don't know how to begin searching for a school.  I'm an undergrad now, and the department I'm in seems to have a very mean and unhelpful culture.  The most important thing for me is that the character of the department be helpful and enjoyable - but I can't find this ranked anywhere.

I did undergraduate degrees in Math & Philosophy at this same school, and professors were eager to sit around and chat about a cool proof or a interesting school of thought in philosophy, but the CS professors are cold and disinterested in students.

* Has anyone had a great grad school experience with enthusiastic professors?
* How do you research something like this?

bob
Tuesday, July 22, 2003

Here are a few thoughts. My experience is about 10 years old, but the principles remain true.

1. Figure out what area you want to study. (Databases? Networking? Languages? Usability? etc...)

2. Figure out where the powerhouses (people/univ) are who do this research. This is where you want to go to school.  Make sure they're well funded.

3. Get in contact with the profs and get your name known. This will help you get in. Show interest in their research. Make them want to "hire" you as their research assistant.

To do step 2, ask your current professors about who does the active research. If they are no help, figure out what the prominant journals are and see who publishes in them.

See, it's really important to be in a program that has research money. These professors who have grants are teaching less, and are working on the cool projects more, and hopefully working with you (and paying you so you don't have to be a TA also!)  You need the professors to be actively involved in your graduate program so that you will have the experience and credentials you'll need when you graduate.