ranking of wright state university ?

cs dept?

anon
Tuesday, July 22, 2003

Did you try http://www.ratemyprofessors.com/index.jsp

?

Matt H.
Tuesday, July 22, 2003

It's the dominant engineering and CS school here in SW Ohio. A big state school. I've known LOTS of people go through there. Purportedly excellent reputation.

Bored Bystander
Tuesday, July 22, 2003

I would have to disagree.  At least in 1995, when I graduated high school, the engineering school to go to in SW Ohio was the University of Cincinnati. 

I had some friends that went to U of Dayton as well as Case Western, and at least in computer eng. I felt the UC program was just as good, if not better. 

A word of warning. When I was at UC they were in the process of adding the comp sci program in with the comp eng, and ee.  There was a noticable difference in the quality of faculty and students between the engineers and comp sci.  There was concern on the part of the engineering faculty over this, but I am not sure if it has been fixed.

Adam
Tuesday, July 22, 2003

I'd agree -- UC is a far better school. I graduated there in 1994 from the CS department, back when it was part an offshoot of the Math dept. in the A&S school. Those were the days (!!!) Graduated into the biggest tech boom the world's ever see. Wish we had those days back.

Some time about 6 years back, the CS department moved to the Engineering college. I think that was a good move for them. The academic standards are much higher in the Engineering college than they are in the Arts & Sciences college, and I believe that your value per tuition dollar would be much better in the Engineering school. 

Way back in those dark ages, UC's Engineering school was very highly rated. I can't say where they stand at the moment.