Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Another career?

We've had a bunch of topics lately involving programmer apathy, alternate careers, etc.

I've got a choice to make. I've been working as a programmer for 6 years, and have seen my income grow from 30 to 100K. For the last 2 years I have been working for a company that is a contractor for a gov't agency.  I'll spare you the details, but this job is a dead end - financially and intellectually.  Looking around, I find that I have acquired domain knowledge that nobody else has, plus I have the technical skills to capitalize on it.

To be specific about my skills: OOD, a bizarre proficiency in SQL, dimensional database design, activity based costing and first-hand knowledge of the systems and people who understand the agency's systems. Nobody else has this combinations of skills.

So I've been told that I am in the "cat-bird's seat."  I wasn't anticipating this (at all) but it look like I will accept a position in the agency. Absolutely zero software development culture, but i will be able to write whatever code I like in whatever language, etc - I just need to make my employer happy.

Is this hacker nirvana, or am I becoming a bureaucrat?       

Reluctant bureaucrat
Monday, July 21, 2003

Sounds great to me!  If you've already been there awhile anyway then it seems like trusting your instincts is a good idea.

Scot
Monday, July 21, 2003

30 to 100K in 6 years is pretty dam impressive.

Why are accepting the government agency position that was apparently offered to you?  Is it for job security? Will you have to take cut in pay?

One Programmer's Opinion
Tuesday, July 22, 2003

You're going to get -more- than 100K in a gov't agency with just 6 years expience?

That sounds wierd to me.  I'm assuming you've got to be a contractor, not an employee?

I wouldn't think you could make that kind of money in the FED as a GS-level employee.  You'd have to be SES.  And they don't give those jobs out to coders.