Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Beginning Programmer - What Should I Learn?

I'm a rising college senior, and I was hoping to get some opinions on where I should concentrate my learning, in terms of programming.  I want to balance two concerns:

1. Maximize my programming ability
2. Maximize my professional desirability

I'm very proficient for a college student, which means that i can run circles around my classmates while still (I assume) being vastly inferior to a good professional programmer.  I know Java and C++ well, but I've have no experience whatsoever in GUI programming.  I was thinking about picking up Visual Basic, something I have no experience with.  Let's hear some opinions on whether that's a good place to start.  If so, would you go VB or VB.NET?  What other books would you recommend picking up?  Right now, I'd like to concentrate on learning concrete skills (i.e. VB) as opposed to general programming/workplace/productivity stuff (Peopleware). 

Summary:
Where should I concentrate my energy?
What books should I pick up?

Bring on the comments

Mike Harris
Sunday, July 20, 2003

"I'm very proficient for a college student, which means that i can run circles around my classmates while still (I assume) being vastly inferior to a good professional programmer."

This statement is BS.  See all the threads about "best programmer" on this board.  If you think you're going to get into the industry and learn some "magic trick", you're not.  There are no magic tricks.  This seems to be a misconception among college students.  They think to themselves, "What do the pros know that I don't."  The answer is, "Nothing.".

Programming is simple.  Easy one might say.  There is no magic to programming. 

Unless you plan on working for a game/software company then I would brush up on business aspects such as accounting, the ecomony, process control etc etc, so that you know something about the manufacturing and service sectors.

anon
Sunday, July 20, 2003