Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

ee degree

hello all,

Im interested in studying ee i was wondering if anyone could give me some feedback on the difficulty of the classes.  I've heard it's a tough ciriculum, but what makes it so tough?

thanks

mike

mike johnson
Friday, July 18, 2003

I have an engineering degree (not EE, nor computer science), and had to take one EE class.  So I'm no expert. 

But, when and where I went to school, EE was widely regarded as the hardest of all the majors.  (Except maybe Physics.  But you have to be crazy to major in Physics in the first place.)  (And, okay, except Architecture, but that's a *calling*, not a major - I mean, do you know much architects *make*?  Not enough.)

Do what you love.  It will make school a lot easier.  This, I am an expert in...

Grumpy Old-Timer
Friday, July 18, 2003

In my class we started with 130 EE majors. We graduated 31. Those ninety-nine people did not leave out of boredom.

IMHO, EE is hard for two main reasons:
1) It has the highest math and physics requirements outside those degree programs. We called Electricity and Magnetism II (fourth year physics) "black magic".
2) You generally don't learn about things you can see. In mechanical engineering it's pretty easy to understand stresses in bridge trusses. In aerospace engineering (another REALLY hard major) you can see airfoils in use. In EE you learn about the motions of electrons and the interaction of electrical and magnetic fields. These are generally not observable phenomena, and can be difficult to grasp.

If electronics interests you and you like building things, see if you can get into an introductory circuits class before you declare a major.

Note that when I went to school EE was THE hot field, so a lot of people did it for the money, which is the #1 worst reason to choose a major.

So to answer your question - "yes, it's hard"

Philo

Philo
Friday, July 18, 2003

Mike,