Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

How to get database work from company?

I have 2 years experience, and I am on my second job,
(first one they had to let me go for business reasons).
I started around 3 months back in the second job.
Strangly enough, so far in my 2 years of coding experience,
I havn't worked yet with a database backend system.
My first job was working on a CAD like modelling system, where I did a lot of VC++/OpenGL work, with API development and geometrical modelling, where the model was saved in a flat file.Second time around just completed a project in Java for text data mining.
I have done a lot of algorithm development (3D,2D, data mining algorithms for classification,clustering, text manipulation), but yet to lay my hands on a database backend system.
Would that be a complete negative on my resume?
Should I request my current employer to give me database work?

anon
Friday, July 11, 2003

Anon - It will only be a negative if you see yourself looking at positions that require database experience.  I believe you should expand your knowledge base as much as possible.  However...

Given 2 years of experience, it is better to be focused.  While you have fewer choices for your next position, you increase your chance of getting it by being consistent. 

Short answer -- Don't worry, be happy, continue to gain experience, then diversify.

Mike Gamerland
Friday, July 11, 2003

You can always come up with a database project to work on at home with free tools like MySQL (a CD database, weblog software, whatever).    Then once you think you're comfortable with it, suggest a small project to your boss to use your newfound skills (like an issue tracking database).

a different anon
Friday, July 11, 2003