Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Which printer is cheaper as cost per page?

Back when I was a student:

- laser printers were expensive, but had very low cost per printed page

- ink jet printers were inexpensive, but had a very high cost per printed page

Now, it seems it's the other way around?

XXL
Tuesday, July 08, 2003

As consumables are forever, I see the lasers as cheaper, but far less colorful.  Today, you can get a nice (not great) black&white laser for about $150 US. 

It will print for years and while a laser cartridge is expensive it is still much less per page. 

BigRoy
Tuesday, July 08, 2003

Here's a PCMag article comparing laser to inkjet that's about a year and a half old, but still probably pretty accurate.

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,4149,3196,00.asp

Lasers still generally have a lower cost per page, but you have to check individual printers because there can be variations.  That is, there are probably some inkjets that now have lower ccp than some lasers.  If you're doing a lot of printing, even a $0.01 difference in cost per page can add up to a lot over the lifetime of a printer.

Herbert Sitz
Tuesday, July 08, 2003

There was just an article on the web.  Ink is 7 times as expensive as vintage champagne.  Laser is always cheaper per sheet after you eliminate the initial acquisition cost

http://adserver.anm.co.uk/html.ng/site=til&size=120x90&channel=/tilnewscity&subchannel=/tilnewscity&pos=403

Mike
Tuesday, July 08, 2003

Holy Cow Herb! If new postscript laser printers are going for $150-$250 nowadays it would be *insane* to consider anything else for black and white printing.

I paid $1000 for my laser printer in 1992. Here it is 11 years later and I have had no problems with it despite having printed many tens of thousands of pages. At a grand, it was a good value. At $150 it's an absolute steal.

X. J. Scott
Tuesday, July 08, 2003