Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

CEO.

Hello,
Basically, in short, I'm a developer, in a company. We have some tight deadlines, which I don't mind. As it is now...we pretty much had no days off in three months, every weekend etc...we are small company but dealing with huge clients. Anyway, I'm pretty good with time, I'm normally in between 8.30 - 9.15, now considering I'm often here utnil 3am, I don't see the problem. The CEO mailed us this morning, to let us all know to be on time, 9am sharp. His wife he works here stolled in at 11.

I mean, we aren't on great money, I applied for a number of days off, just one here and there, non got accepted, we worked for three months, no overtime, no days off...and he mails us this. We've turned this from a good application to a serious enterprise application, with all the bells etc... And we get this in return.

I am thinking of writing him a mail, basically say, free ways, to make our lives easier. Sometimes I'm really in the 'zone' so to speak and I am getting allot done. Then, since I don't have a key to this place, I have to leave. It's stupid and pointless. Or another thing, when I leave at 3am and I'm expected back in at 8am, I have to spend two hours getting home bnad back, why the hell can't I just sleep under my desk on a blowup bed or something? Why waste time going home and back.

We are treated like crap, I don't want to have no job, I know it's hard to get one now, but I don't see why I should put up with this crap. I know allot of people leaving IT becuase of people, rather than the job. I'm half thinking about the same, I enjoy  what I do, allot of unix systems programming, I like it, but this is just useless. If I do leave ill probably have to relocate to get any job like this.

I'm wondering if I should just sent him an honest, non-abusive mail, outlining what I would like to see happen, things to make our work lives easier, what'ya think?

fw
Tuesday, July 08, 2003