Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Camouflaging an OS?

I'm a journalist, and I travel extensively throughout Asia commentating and reporting from hot-spots. A colleague of mine last week was arrested and had his laptop taken by the police in this specific Asian country, and interrogated, he was accused of "sedition" because of his articles, but whats weirder, he was accussed of software piracy. Despite the fact our notebooks are given by the news company we work for, and we dont install or uninstall anything from it. It was a mere pretext to haul him in, this is backed up by the fact that no credible anti-piracy laws exists in this ultra corrupt nation.
As a result of this incident, I'm seeking to take all measures possible when travelling abroad.
I know there are software to hide files, and i'm trying out the trial versions at the moment. But is there such a thing as software to hide program files, and all the shortcuts that accompany it in the start menu and desktop?. I'm using windows xp, I was thinking if there was such a thing as a decoy operating system that I can use?.
From now on, I'm leaving nothing to chance.

Jimmy
Tuesday, July 01, 2003

Two points:

Firstly, if the laptop was just a pretext, what makes you think that having a more secure laptop will keep them off of you?

Second, 'hiding' files usually means steganography. It is worth noting that, as far as I am aware, every method of steganogaphy devised thus far is detectable. Even if it was undetectable when it was invented, I believe an attack has always been able to be created after the fact.

Meaning that a competent party that thinks you may actually have data hidden will be able to find it.

Your other option is encryption: Sure, they'll know the files are there, but without a key, they can't get at it.

In any case, I doubt there's any method that can stop a rogue government from coming after you: if they only need a pretext, it can usually be found.