Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

developer doing design,testing,documentation

I am a single programmer working on a reasonable size data mining project.In addition to design, research, finding appropriate algorithms, coding etc.. I am spending a whole lot of time in testing and documetation in the project,
how do other developers balance these aspects?
I am finding getting immersed in testing, I am neglecting other developmental activities.
I work in small company with no testers or tech. writers, how to balance out the responsibilities, given that I am primarily a dev. guy?

anon
Saturday, June 28, 2003

I think that testing _is_ a development activity. If I don't test your code, I can't be sure neither that I've build the right thing, nor that I've build the thing right.
That said, I think that you should try and automate your tests. This way, the time you spend on testing is just the time needed to code them.

As for the documentation, what kind of documentation are you talking about? User Manual? API reference?

Giovanni Corriga
Saturday, June 28, 2003

Errata: It should have been 'if I don't test _my_ code...'

Giovanni Corriga
Saturday, June 28, 2003

unit testing is one thing - UAT/system/regression testing - are not (IMO) developer activities - requires a different set of skills (and a completely different attitude).

Pete
Saturday, June 28, 2003

Actually, this doesn't sound so much like a "what responsibilities belong to developers" question as it does a workload management question.

Your situation may not be ideal when it comes to a developer environment but you're stuck with it (unless you can convince the company to hire a tester). In that situation, I would say that the most important step is to try to get rid of the attitude that testing is somehow diverting you from "more important" developer tasks. Since you are literally "it" on this project, it's ALL important.