Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Problem with colleague

I've been working with one of my colleagues for nearly four years. We've always had a good working relationship and had a good laugh. Recently things seem to have soured.

We work on an outsourced project and we are the only two based in our office. I run the project and he is the test manager, so we have to work closely together.

I had noticed a few months ago that he had started to get a little off with me. We had a disagreement about specifications and I overruled him. He's had a lot of input and I've often listened to his point of view and changed my mind, but on this occasion I didn't feel that he was right.

I think he was also a little upset that I seem to cruise through my job with little effort. I meet deadlines and sometimes end up waiting on others, so I might surf the net for half an hour every few days - usually doing research as it happens. He seems 'overworked' so I offer a hand and he declines.

We talked this out recently and seemed to patch things up. However, it is obvious that he has a problem with me. This is the sort of thing that is happening...

If I need to discuss something I get "not right now". He'll be running test plans that take no more than 5 minutes, but he can't talk for the next two hours. It's never a friendly "give me a couple of minutes and I'll be with you" it's always abrupt. If someone else, strikes up a conversation in that time, he will talk to them for fifteen minutes, without once mentioning the fact that they have disturbed him.

We used to have discussions where we could make suggestions, come up with ideas and sort the good from the bad. Now, if we don't agree on the original suggestion (whoever made it) he gets in a huff and the rest of the conversation is wasted.

I'll ask how his weekend was. He used to ask me as well, now he doesn't bother.

I'll offer him a drink, when I make one. He'll refuse then get up five minutes later to make himself one.