Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Court: MSFT not required to carry Sun's Java

http://www.infoworld.com/article/03/06/26/HNjavacarry_1.html

Well, there ya go.  Hate the company, love the stock.  Bought a huge load as it hit resistance at 24. Actually, I had to chase it, as my order was for 23.0, and it never made it.  Since then, I've been wondering if it will make it through resistance at 26.

Tomorrow, I think it will.

MSFT is evil.  So am I.

Nat Ersoz
Thursday, June 26, 2003

Microsoft buys another judge.

NoName
Thursday, June 26, 2003

"... baught another judge"

Hardly.  Just another frivolous lawsuit being shoved through the courts.  If Sun can't stand on it's own 2 feet why should the government force their competition to hold 'em up.

Lucas Goodwin
Thursday, June 26, 2003

I am actually very happy that MS is NOT forced to distribute the Java virtual machine.

Why is that?

I am a competent Visual C++ and Delphi programmer.

About one year ago, I started learning Java, but for some reason, it doesn't stick on me.

I understand the language and the libraries, and can write programs, but for some reason the entire Java thing (language + app) feels extremely weird and unconfortable.

I simply don't like it.

As a developer, I value things such as fast program execution, powerful RAD environment, easy access to any API (especially including Windows API and COM objects), the possibility of building highly functional and rich interfaces, high productivity (judged by Delphi standards, not by C + some weird library standards), etc.

Java is none of these (ok, there is Borland JBuilder, but it's a weird tool).

Also, to someone used to C++ and Delphi, the Java language feels like a small, unconfortable car.

So, I have many (personal and objective) reasons I don't like the Java language.

I certainly don't want to work in Java. It is plain weird, unproductive (compared to Delphi), not really suited to building excellent GUI apps, it has low performance, etc.