Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Ideal nummber of pages in a resume

What do you guys think is the ideal number pages should be in a resume? I know it depends on your years of experience and the type of job you are appying for. But what is the general standard? and what is too long and too short? Is 3 pages too long for a software engineer with 3 years of exeprience and a Masters in CS?

Anon
Tuesday, June 24, 2003

Never go over 1 page.  Ever.  Ever.  That's what the interview is for.

Anon
Tuesday, June 24, 2003

>> "Is 3 pages too long for a software engineer with 3 years of exeprience and a Masters in CS"

Yes, unless you've held a million jobs over 3 years and even then it's too long.  What exactly are you saying on the resume besides I've worked here, here and here and I have a masters in CS?  Must be a lot of extraneous BS.

Tuesday, June 24, 2003

What I did was a "two pages"-"two parts" resume: all that I want conveyed in the resume (experience, education, qualities, goals, miscellanous) are on the first page. Then on the second page, I added a part called "detailled experience" where I specifies more clearly what I did, what was my thesis about...

It works like a charm.

jcm
Tuesday, June 24, 2003

http://discuss.fogcreek.com/joelonsoftware/default.asp?cmd=show&ixPost=53248&ixReplies=1

See, i told you there are only al imited number of topics here.

www.MarkTAW.com
Tuesday, June 24, 2003

Anything more than 1 page is too much. If I get 400 resumes, I don't need 800 pages to read!

The one exception to this is when the second page is nothing by a skills assessment (C++ 1 Year, C# 10 years, etc.). Lots of HR types like that because it helps them sort you faster. Otherwise they need to actually *read* it, oh my.

Marc
Tuesday, June 24, 2003