Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Snobbery and the IDE

Why do graduate students in CS turn their noses up at you if you develop using an IDE?  If they said that an inexperienced student shouldn't use an IDE while learning, I'd probably buy that.  But I'm a grad student too, and I've worked full-time developing software for close to fifteen years.  It'd be my worst nightmare if one day I woke up and my intellisense was gone - or all of IntellJ's insanely productive refactoring utilities.  Why am I a bad programmer because when I type "implements", my IDE magically adds the skeleton for the interface for me?  Would I be better if I sat there typing it in by hand for ten minutes?  Would I be a better programmer if I didn't use a debugger?

anon
Monday, June 23, 2003

does anyone care what graduate students in CS think?
Maybe mention that the average Starbucks employee makes more money than they do, and the starbucks employee doesn't have to use emacs OR an IDE.

Monday, June 23, 2003

I would bet it is partly because many CS students (graduate and undergrad) have never used a good IDE/debugger, and have no idea what it can do for you.  I know when I was in school, the best we had was GDB + emacs, and that just doesn't compare to the products available.

Mike McNertney
Monday, June 23, 2003

>> "does anyone care what graduate students in CS think?"

Good point.  From my perspective, they don't seem to be very good.  But either they're nuts or I am - and there's a lot more of them.  Are there any people out there who actually get paid to code who reject IDEs?

anon
Monday, June 23, 2003

i sometimes get paid to do a web thing, or write some perl. for that I just use emacs. I also don't really like intellij, i would rather use emacs for java development - however I only do simple java stuff. for windows or mac programming I use visual studio or project builder.

Monday, June 23, 2003

anon,