Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

obnoxious addition to a resume?

I am working on my resume these days (the company I work at is going under soon) and put something in it that some found objectionable.

I added this to the start of my work experience at my current job:

--------

Non-trivial fact: I was hired as employee #5. I saw the hiring of dozens of fine people and their subsequent laying off due to cut-backs. My services always remained in demand.

--------

I added this because, while I have 8 solid years of experience as a programmer, I don't have a degree. I know this puts me at a handicap in today's job market, and I'm trying to fix this.

I was a little worried when I added the paragraph though most people haven't had anything bad to say about it. But someone I know who works in human resources (in the hi-tech field) said that it was arrogant and offensive and should be removed.

My question is this: do you think this will improve my chances at getting a job interview or decrease them?

JobHunter
Saturday, June 21, 2003

It is the "Non-trivial fact:" part that is a bit over the top. The rest of it didn't bother me however.

Marc
Saturday, June 21, 2003

Agreed with Marc on the "Non-trivial fact" part, and I'm wondering about the rest.
Does "I was employee #5 and I outlasted everyone" tell a recruiter anything more than the simple longevity at the job?
I'm also thinking - often the first few employees at a company got there via networking (read: "Who's your buddy?") This also translates to them being the last fired.

So I'm not really sure it's worth the question marks it raises...

Philo

Philo
Saturday, June 21, 2003

I was brought over by a buddy. He was fired over a year ago (and not gently either). But I don't think I want to add that to the resume too...

JobHunter
Saturday, June 21, 2003

Philo may be right. I had not thought of it that way.