Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

For those geeks seeking an MBA...

I borrowed my boss’s copy of Baseline (he is out of town).

Page 16: "Contrary to popular wisdom, the technology skills of a CIO are more important than the business skills."

Granted that this is one sentence out of a 1.5 page article, it also mentions that CIO bonus pay is tied to completing a project on time and on budget. "Rarely do they consider the aftermath."

Finally, "...there is no simple and uniform way to measure return on a technology investment".

Sound familiar?  I suppose that I don't have a real point.  If you can't tell, JOS is my virtual water cooler, since I am a loner IT programmer.

Top 20 CIO pay with bonuses: #1 $ 7.31e6 ... #20 $ 1.16e6.

--
ee

eclectic_echidna
Tuesday, June 17, 2003

Maybe in a small company a CIO is about technology, but IMHO in a large company a CIO should be 95% management, 5% technology.

I find it frightening that stuff like that is being passed off as The Absolute Truth.

Philo

Philo
Tuesday, June 17, 2003

> also mentions that CIO bonus pay is tied to completing a project on time and on budget. "Rarely do they consider the aftermath."  <

Thus the thread about whether or not to drop testing in favor of producing a project on time.

www.MarkTAW.com
Tuesday, June 17, 2003

According to the Tapiwa School of Management, the CIO's role is not about technology, but about translating business strategy into technology requirements, and then managing that implementation.

It is about knowing enough technology to be able to
1. translate business requirements to some sort of tech roadmap for the business.
2. evaluate risks to business from tech issues (security; redundancy; vendor lock-in; migration; backups etc)
3. ask the right questions of people who purport to know the technology - (staff; contractors; vendors)
4. sift the chaff from the wheat when it comes to tech - (is something a buzzword; is it a passing fad; or is the vendor spreading FUD)