Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

What to pick - C# or VB.NET?

Hi All,

I work for a LARGE IT company and here everything is driven by 'business requirements' as they call it. It doesn’t matter what technology you know, what technology you have expertise in, you will be _thrown_ in a project depending on criteria which only God knows.

I have been working on VB 5 + Oracle 8i for last 9 months. [This despite the fact that, I had prior experience in VB 6 and I was trained on it again.]

Anyways, I am now going to get out of this project and god knows what next project is going to be.

But as the management is seeing lot of .NET projects coming up, they want everyone to learn new technology.

Now here is the confusion. What should I learn?
C# or VB.NET?

Due to tight project schedule, I really didn’t have time to look in to .NET, forget about studying C# or VB.NET. But from whatever I have read, it looks like you can leverage your knowledge of one .NET language (say C#) to another. (Or is it that I don't understand it at all?)

I have prior experience in C (2 and half years) and C++ (around 1 year) as well.

Knowing this, what do you suggest? What shall I pick up?

Also, what will be the best place/tutorials to start my endeavor with .NET?

Your views are most welcome! :)

Regards,
JD

JD
Tuesday, June 17, 2003

C#

chris
Tuesday, June 17, 2003

Our VB6 guy doesn't want to touch VB.NET with a stick.  He feels that there's just to much legacy syntax and leftovers.

We are porting our current VB work into C#.

Having experience in C/C++, C# is not a difficult transition.  What you really end up learning is the CLR rather than syntax.

We kind of think that C# borrowed a lot of syntax from C++, and a lot of features and RAD from VB.

You should feel learning C# is pretty easy.

Walt
Tuesday, June 17, 2003