Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Freelance websites?

I have a client who is looking for someone to develop and maintain an Access db with forms, reports, etc.  It is a pretty robust app, as far as Access development goes.  Here is my question.  I don't have time to do the app for them (I am studying for my MCSD at night).  I thought about directing them to one of the freelance websites (elance.com, etc.).  Does anyone have experience using these?  Either from a developer or business owner perspective. 

This is a good client and I don't want them to get screwed.  Unfortunately, the developers I do know personally are either not qualified for this project or are Linux people who won't touch MS with a 10 foot pole  (yes it HAS to be in Access).

Thanks all :)

shiggins
Tuesday, June 17, 2003

which country? Face to face is still the best.

most of the freelance sites out there are really crummy. From both a developers and client's perspective.

tapiwa
Tuesday, June 17, 2003

USA

shiggins
Tuesday, June 17, 2003

Which state?

I have had some experience on the 'freelance' side of the freelance web sites. I wasn't too happy with them. Most of the jobs seem to go overseas or at the very least, far off site. If they are looking to pay some real money, they may be better off contacting a regional consulting agency.

Dustin Alexander
Tuesday, June 17, 2003

Colorado.  They have a local agency they work with sometimes.  They are OUTRAGEOUS!!!  They usually charge 3 times what I charge.  I charge anywhere between $35-$100/hr.  Typically $75.

shiggins
Tuesday, June 17, 2003

The problem is likely to be with the intial database design rather than the actual coding. You can code pretty fast with Access, but getting the initial design right is the same problem whatever database engine you are using.

If they can't find somebody locally they, or you as their agent,  could go around the Access forums till you find somebody who knows what he's doiing.