Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Skills Atrophying

I used to be an excellent and well-rounded software developer (VS6 C++/VB, COM+, etc.).  In 2000, I took a job at a Fortune 100 company in Boston as a VB6 developer for a huge salary thinking that I'd hang around for six months to a year - just long enough to save up for some luxuries - and then move back to something challenging...  Then the bubble burst, and I've been here ever since - skills atrophying all the while. 

Development isn't like riding a bike.  If you don't use your skills, you lose them, I think.  I find myself struggling to remember idiosyncrasies of simple C++, let alone the complexities of ATL.  And I haven't even looked at .NET!  I don't even have time to work on my software engineering skills at home because I'm also a CS grad student, and the only thing we use at school is Java.  Believe me, a regimen of Java and VB (while they're both excellent tools for what they do) ain't gonna keep you in top form. 

Help!  What do I do?

bob
Thursday, June 12, 2003

Stop worrying and be good at what you are currently using.  If a future job requires a shift in skills, you'll adapt and spin those things back up.  But if you don't need them, who cares?

Unless you _really_ want out of the job, that is.  You didn't really say that, though.  You sound like a bodybuilder who's concerned about muscles shrinking that he never needed in the first place.

Robert
Thursday, June 12, 2003

>> "Unless you _really_ want out of the job, that is."

The job's fine for now.  I have a nice big year 2000 salary -which I'd _never_ get offered nowadays -  and they pay for school.  This place is as good a place as any to ride out the bad economy.

bob
Thursday, June 12, 2003

I've been in the field for about 15 years, and I used to worry about atrophying, too. But you know what? It does come back. Maybe not instantaneously, but it does.