Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

New MFC Project and COM?

Hi,

We're about to start a new project using MFC and hopefully COM. Does anyone have recommendations on books or websites?

Also, I've been reading very different views on using ATL to simplify COM -- what are people's opinions on that?

Cheers
Jedi

jedidjab
Thursday, June 12, 2003

"...hopefully COM" -- ha ha ha, nice one!!!

A *new* project using MFC/COM? Any partcular reason why?

Duncan Smart
Thursday, June 12, 2003

I was on the team that implemented COM inside CorelDRAW (back when I was a co-op / new grad). Obviously I wasn't involved in any of the architecture, but I did gradually learn more and more about it and it seemed pretty interesting (albeit it introduces another layer of bugs and can be hell to debug).

Fast forward to some years later, and I'm in a company that's starting a project that will hopefully become part of a suite of products. Since we're already planning integration between the applications, COM seemed like a nice way to go. It also gives us a way to run automated testing through VB scripts.

I'm open to suggestions :)

jedidjab
Thursday, June 12, 2003

MFC does do COM, but the way MFC does it adds a lot of confusion and limitations to the process - limitations that really start to chafe if you need to do more advanced COM stuff.

ATL CAN be used in an MFC project. In fact, if you're dead set on doing an MFC project I'd say use MFC for the GUI stuff and ATL for the COM stuff.

However, ATL does take a better level of developer to understand and take advantage of it. If your teammates aren't comfortable with C++ templates and are totally confused when they see:

template< class Base >
  class MyImpl : public Base {
  }

then you should expect a fairly big training burden with ATL.

Chris Tavares
Thursday, June 12, 2003